Viktor Frankl on Man’s Search for Meaning

Ever more people today have the means to live, but no meaning to live for.

Viktor Frankl

Our lives must have meaning and as Viktor Frankl found we think money and career will give our lives meaning.  But as a survivor of the Holocaust, Frankl knows firsthand that stripped of all external possessions the meaning of our lives has nothing to do with such things.  At Jewish concentration camps he observed that man can endure tremendous suffering and remain hopeful if only there exists some glimmer of meaning for it–reuniting with loved ones; demonstrating the utter wrong of persecuting others; vindicating the Jewish people etc.

Finding meaning is no easy task however;  it is a deep inward search that even with focused attention can take years to sort out.  Perhaps we have one meaning as a child and another as an adult.  Its easier to not think about it.  In fact most of us prefer an unending supply of distractions over thinking about the meaning of our lives.  But the search for meaning is a quest that beckons even among the distractions and sedatives we administer daily to get out of it;  it persists beyond coffee, delicious food, fancy cars and beautiful clothes.  Although there is nothing wrong with loving these things! I certainly do.  But we are not here to just be comfortable.  We are each here for a reason that has more to do with internal than external rewards.

I know because I am one of those people with decent means to live, but who needs more than stuff.  I need meaning and this blog is born out of my own personal and ever incessant need to find it in my life.

And so with conviction, I proceed forward fumbling my way through a blog that will somehow give my life more meaning.  I can forgive my bad choices or my unkind actions, if and only if, I find meaning from such mistakes and I learn from the experience for the better.  If I can share my revelations and help someone else in the process so much the better.

Sincerely,

 

One response to “Viktor Frankl on Man’s Search for Meaning

  1. Pingback: live.love.believe. | ♥ truelovejunkie ♥

What do you think? I'd love to find out!

